Education Undergraduate Programs

Welcome to the web page for Undergraduate Programs in the Department of Education. Contact the appropriate Program Director for information. Contact information is available at the Education Department Faculty web page. Contact the department secretary for general information at 580-559-5348.

Undergraduate Degree Programs:

  • Early Childhood Education - Dr. Regina Smith - rsmith@ecok.edu - 580-559-5321 - ADMIN 252
  • Elementary Education - Dr. Marty Pennington - mpenning@ecok.edu - 580-559-5322 - ADMIN 250-C
  • Special Education - Dr. Laura Bixler - lbixler@ecok.edu - 580-559-5351 - ADMIN 220

Secondary Certification Programs in the Majors (degree in the major) Contact appropriate department:

  • English/Language Arts - Dr. Teresa Rothrock - trothrock@ecok.edu - 580-559-5439 / 580-559-5467 - 335B Horace Mann
  • Family and Consumer Science - Ms. Jan Long - jmlong@ecok.edu - 580-559-5631 - 216 Faust Hall
  • Mathematics - Dr. Mary Harper - mharper@ecok.edu - 580-559-5286 - 202-A Science Hall
  • Science Education
  • Social Studies - Dr. Scott Barton - SBarton@ecok.edu - 580-559-5563 - 238D Horace Mann
  • Speech/Drama Education - Dr. Donna Graves - dgraves@ecok.edu - 580-559-5503 - 159 HBFFAC

K-12 Programs: 

  • Art Education - Dr. Brad Jessop - bjessop@ecok.edu - 580-559-5353 - 134A HBFFAC
  • Music Education - Dr. Kelley Alig - kalig@ecok.edu - 580-559-5726 - 149A HBFFAC
  • Physical Education - Mr. Jason Prather - jprather@ecok.edu - 580-559-5357 - 111 Kinesiology

Graduate Degree Programs:

  • Elementary Education - Dr. Nanette Schmitt - nschmitt@ecok.edu - 580-559-5338 - ADMIN 250-A
  • Elementary Education - Mathematics - Ms. Debbie Claxton - dclaxton@ecok.edu - 580-559-5309 - ADMIN 212-C
  • Leadership - Dr. Bill Caruthers - bcaruthr@ecok.edu - 580-559-5461 - ADMIN 251
  • Library Media - Dr. Shelli Sharber - ssharber@ecok.edu - 580-559-5576 - ADMIN 261
  • Reading -  Dr. David Smith - desmith@ecok.edu - 580-559-5561 - ADMIN 250-B
  • Secondary Education - Dr. Mark Jones - mejones@ecok.edu - 580-559-5323 - ADMIN 212-E
  • Secondary Education - Academic Discipline - Dr. Mark Jones - mejones@ecok.edu - 580-559-5323 - ADMIN 212-E
  • Secondary Education - Educational Technology - Dr. Mark Jones - mejones@ecok.edu - 580-559-5323 - ADMIN 212-E
  • Special Education Dr. Laura Bixler - lbixler@ecok.edu - 580-559-5351 - ADMIN 220
  • School Counseling - Dr. Usha Fountain - ufountain@ecok.edu - 580-559-5577 - ADMIN 262-B
  • Sports Administration - Mr. Jason Prather - jprather@ecok.edu - 580-559-5357 - 111 Kinesiology

CERTIFICATION OPTIONS*

Certification Programs

  • Elementary Math Specialist – Ms. Debbie Claxton
  • School Superintendent – Dr. Bill Caruthers
  • School Psychologist – Dr. Santa Velez
  • School Psychometrist – Dr. Santa Velez
  • Alternative Certification (Principal) – Dr. Bill Caruthers
  • Alternative Certification (Superintendent) – Dr. Bill Caruthers
  • Special Education Non-Traditional Route to Certification (Boot camp) – Dr. Laura Bixler

 

Dean, College of Education & Psychology

  • Dr. Brenda Sherbourne

 

Department Chairs

  • Dr. Phyllis Isaacs, Chair - Department of Education
  • Dr. Joanna Harris-Young, Chair - Department of Psychology
  • Mr. Jason Prather, Chair – Department of Kinesiology

Elementary Mathematics Specialist; Library Science; Psychometrist; School Administration; School Psychologist

*Certification options do not lead to a degree but meet the state of Oklahoma requirements for certification. Individuals holding degrees may also seek certification in any of the program areas.
*Contact Dr. Brenda Sherbourne, Dean, for questions about certification at 580-559-5350, bsherbrn@ecok.edu.