Honors Program Past Spotlights

Photo of Amber Lynn Cannon

Recent graduate Amber Lynn Cannon spent ten weeks at the National Weather Center developing a method for Deriving Population Exposure Fatality Rate Estimates for Tornado Outbreaks Using Geographic Information Systms (GIS), which is a task that has never before been attempted in a spatial analysis sense. In January 2012, Amber presented her work at the 92nd Annual Meeting of the American Meteorological Society in New Orleans, LS. Click here to read more about Amber's accommplishments."


Photo of Thomas Pack

Recent graduate, Thomas Pack receives Truman Fellowship, a national prize awarding $30,000 toward graduate education. Read more about it here.




Kyle Foster attended an OSLEP seminar. Click here to read about his experience.






Jaime Jones recently won the Lynn Freeman Olson Composition Award. Click here to read more!














Five ECU honors students have been awarded funding under the NASA National Space Grant College and Fellowship Program for the 2010-2011 academic year.

  1. Matthew Payne of Wanette, physics
  2. Rosa Denton of Porum, early childhood education
  3. Noelle Hurt of Stratford, in political science
  4. Bethany Beachel of Henryetta, chemistry
  5. Amber Cannon of Collinsville, cartography & geography

The awards are competitive and applications are reviewed by a campus committee. Awards are in the form of scholarship or research stipend.