Education Department Faculty

Name & Infosort descending
John Bedford
Adjunct, Education
Yvonne Bedford
Adjunct, Education
Laura Bixler
Professor, Education
580-559-5351
lbixler@ecok.edu
Staci Capps
Adjunct, Education
580-559-5348
scapps@ecok.edu
Diana Clampitt
Adjunct, Education
580-559-5348
dialcla@ecok.edu
Debbie Claxton
Instructor, Education
580-559-5309
dclaxton@ecok.edu
Sherri Coats
Adjunct, Education
580-559-5348
shelcoa@ecok.edu
Rebecca Compton
Professor, Education
580-559-5543
BCompton@ecok.edu
Jack Green
Assistant Professor and Chair, Education
580-559-5240
jgreen@ecok.edu
Jo Ann Hunt
Adjunct, Education
580-559-5292
jhunt@ecok.edu
Phyllis Isaacs
Assistant Professor, Education
580-559-5327
phylisa@ecok.edu
Mark Jones
Assistant Professor, Education
Dr. Jones earned his Bachelor of Science in Secondary Science Education from Oklahoma State University in 1999, a Master of Education from Northern Arizona University in 2004, and a Doctor of Philosophy in Education (educational technology emphasis) from Oklahoma State University in 2009.

From 2010 until coming to ECU, Dr. Jones conducted technology training and most recently served as the Assistant Director for the Office of Information Technology at the University of Central. Dr. Jones held the position of assistant professor at Indiana State University during the 2009 – 2010 academic year. Additionally, Dr. Jones is certified by the State of Oklahoma to teach and has taught in Wister and Locust Grove Public Schools biology, anatomy/physiology, botany, zoology, chemistry, physics, and general science. He has additional experience by serving as an assessment specialist and as an instructional designer at Oklahoma State University as well as by serving as the technology director and distance learning coordinator for Heavener Public Schools.
580-559-5323
mejones@ecok.edu
Cassandra Lawrence
Adjunct, Education
Martin Lewis
Adjunct, Education
580-559-5348
mlewis@ecok.edu
Freda Low
Secretary, Education
580-559-5348
freslow@ecok.edu
Matt McGaha
Instructor, Kinesiology and and Instructor, Education
580-559-5969
MMcGaha@ecok.edu
Patricia Parker
Adjunct, Education

patlpar@email.ecok.edu
Martha Pennington
Associate Professor, Education
580-559-5322
mpenning@ecok.edu
Chanda Richardson
Adjunct, Education

chafric@email.ecok.edu
Benny Rothrock
Instructional Technology Design Specialist, Distance Education and and Adjunct, Education
580-559-5844
benrrot@ecok.edu
Nanette Schmitt
Assistant Professor, Education
Dr. Schmitt earned her Bachelor of Science in Human Development from Warner Pacific College in Portland, Oregon in 1994 and her Doctor of Philosophy in Education Administration, Curriculum and Supervision from the University of Oklahoma in 2008.

Dr. Schmitt held the position of Assistant Professor of Education at East Central University from 2007 to 2010. She taught as a part-time instructor for East Central University in fall 2012 and summer 2013. Dr. Schmitt has five years of public school teaching experience in McAlester and Los Angeles. Dr. Schmitt’s previous work in the Education Department was positive. She is an outstanding teacher.
580-559-5338
nschmitt@ecok.edu
Shelli Sharber
Assistant Professor, Education
580-559-5576
ssharber@ecok.edu
Ralph Sharp
Adjunct, Education
580-559-5352
rsharp@ecok.edu
David L. Smith
Instructor, Education
Mr. Smith earned his Bachelor of Arts in Journalism from Colorado State University in 1996 and his Master of Education in Curriculum and Instruction – Reading Education from the University of Virginia in 2002. He is current ABD in a PhD program in Literacy Studies at the University of Nevada, Reno with an anticipated completion date in spring 2014.

Mr. Smith was appointed to an Interim Instructor position for the Spring 2013 Semester at East Central University. Previously, he served as an adjunct instructor at ECU from the fall 2011 semester through the fall 2012 semester. His teaching record is excellent. Before coming to ECU, he was a Visiting Instructor at Barry University in 2010-11 and a Graduate Assistant/Instructor/Research Assistant from 2004 to 2010 at the University of Nevada, Reno. He also taught public school at Beattie Elementary in Fort Collins, Colorado (1998-99), Deltona, Florida (1999-2000), and Naples, Florida (2002-04). Mr. Smith has nine publications and presentations at professional conferences and meetings.
580-559-5932
dlsmith@ecok.edu
Regina Smith
Assistant Professor and Early Childhood Education Program Director, Education
580-559-5321
rsmith@ecok.edu
Jennifer Snell
Director of Student Teaching and Field Experiences, Education and and Instructor, Education
580-559-5579
jenlsne@ecok.edu
Jennifer Snell
Director of Student Teaching and Field Experiences, Education and and Instructor, Education
580-559-5579
jenlsne@ecok.edu
Gracy Taylor
Adjunct, Education
580-559-5348
graetay@ecok.edu
Carolyn Thomas
Adjunct, Education
Staci Vollmer
Instructor, Education
580-559-5320
svollmer@ecok.edu
Kathy Wellington
Adjunct, Education
Jay Wood
Adjunct, Education