~ Criminal Justice Faculty ~

Sony Hensley


Sonya Hensley, instructor of human resources in the Criminal Justice Program, has been an adjunct instructor at ECU since 2009 and project coordinator of the Tribal Police Training Program since 2007.  She previously worked in office administration and retail management.  She has a bachelor's degree in human services counseling, a master's degree in human resources administration/criminal justice, both from ECU, and is enrolled in a doctoral program at Capella University.  She directs the campus CIRCAW program and advises Alpha Phi Sigma criminal justice honor society.


Thom Parr


Thomas M. Parr came to ECU January 2011 as assistant professor of human resources in the Criminal Justice Program.  He had taught at Brookhaven College since 2007, the University of North Texas since 2001, and Texas Woman's University since 2005.  He has prior law enforcement experience and is a former captain of detectives.  He has a bachelor's degree in electronic technology/aviation from Southeastern Oklahoma State University and a master's degree from ECU in human resources/criminal justice.  He expects to complete a doctorate next year in sociology/criminology at UNT.                                                                                               

Ed Smith



Edward L. Smith, instructor of human resources and director of Collegiate Officer Program, has more than 35 years of law enforcement experience.  He has been chief of police in eight cities, serving Seminole since 2007.  He was inducted into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame for City and Town Officials, and is a graduate of the FBI National Academy and several leadership programs.  He has an associate's degree in police science from Seminole State College and a bachelor's degree in professional law enforcement and a master's degree in criminal justice administration, both from Oklahoma City University.  He is a former chairman of the CLEET Curriculum Review Board and was appointed to the OSBI Board of Commissioners by Gov. Keating and to the Board of Directors of the Office of Juvenile Affairs, twice, by Gov. Henry.