22 Sep
8:00 am 2021

The Water Institute at East Central University is gearing up for its sixth annual Sustainability Conference on September 21-22.
The cost to attend the virtual Sustainability Conference is $50 for a one-day pass and $90 for the entire conference. The registration form and agenda are now available on the Oka’ Institute’s website at www.okainstitute.org

Following is a complete list of expert presenters for the 2021 Sustainability Conference.

Tuesday, September 21 (Morning)

• Dr. Katricia Pierson, President, East Central University

• Ken Wagner, Secretary of Energy and Environment, State of Oklahoma

• Dr. Barney Austin, President and CEO, Aqua Strategies

• Duane Smith, Duane Smith & Associates

• Dr. Sharon Megdal, Director, Water Resources Research Center, University of Arizona

• Gov. Bill Anoatubby, The Chickasaw Nation (Keynote Speaker)


Tuesday, September 21 (Afternoon)

• Jimmy Emmons, Soil Health Mentoring Coordinator, Oklahoma Conservation Commission

• Dr. Eileen Kladivko, Professor, Agronomy Department, Purdue University

• Lisa Holscher, Director, Indiana Conservation Cropping Systems Initiative

• Dr. Jessica Brumley, Asst. Professor of Biological & Environmental Sciences, East Central University

• Kevin Blackwood, Field Research Coordinator, Oka’ the Water Institute at East Central University; Adjunct Professor, East Central University

• Dr. Randall Ross, Director, RSKERC Groundwater Technical Support Center, USEPA/ORD/CESER/TSCD

• Josh Gaskamp, Wildlife and Range Consultant, Technical Consultant Manager, Noble Research Institute


Wednesday, September 22 (Morning)

• Richard Brontoli, Executive Director, Red River Valley Association

• Julie Cunningham, Executive Director, Oklahoma Water Resources Board

• Scott Thompson, Executive Director, Oklahoma Department of Environmental Quality

• Trey Lam, Executive Director, Oklahoma Conservation Commission

• Brandon Bowman, Programs Manager, Oklahoma Rural Water Association

• Dr. Hank Jenkins-Smith, Director, National Institute for Risk & Resilience, University of Oklahoma

• Dr. Carol Silva, Director, National Institute for Risk & Resilience, University of Oklahoma

• Senator Frank Simpson, Oklahoma State Senator, District 14, Assistant Majority Floor Leader

• Senator Chris Kidd, Oklahoma State Senator, District 31

• Representative Ronny Johns, Oklahoma House of Representatives, District 25


Wednesday, September 22 (Afternoon)

• Dr. Jason Vogel, Director, Oklahoma Water Survey, University of Oklahoma

• Shana Mashburn, Hydrologic Studies Chief, US Geological Survey

• Dr. Christine Pappas, Professor, Department Chair, Politics, Law and Society, East Central University

• Dr. Leah Dudley Assistant Professor, Biological & Environmental Studies, East Central University

• Gary O’Neill, OK NRCS State Conservationist, US Department of Agriculture-Natural Resources Conservation

• Stephen Eoff, Vice President, Jack Tyler Engineering Incorporated

• Kent Foster, Vice-President of Operations-Business Development, CNI Manufacturing

• Susan Paddack, Executive Director, Oka’ the Water Institute at East Central University


Event Location
East central university