Skip to main content

A Memorandum of Understanding Agreement was recently established between East Central University and Oklahoma State University – Center for Health Sciences College of Osteopathic Medicine called the “3+1 Program.”

OSU-CHS will admit ECU students who desire to become primary care physicians in rural and underserved Oklahoma. The “3+1 Program” then allows ECU students to complete their pre-doctoral medical training in seven years through three years of undergraduate education and four years of medical education at OSU-CHS in its Rural Medical Track (RMT).

ECU students can apply to the program during their sophomore year of college. After successfully completing the first year of medical school and meeting academic requirements, ECU will award an undergraduate degree to students accepted in the “3+1 Program.”

Requirements for the program include: being a resident of the state of Oklahoma, strong desire to practice primary care medicine in rural or underserved Oklahoma, fulltime student with a minimum of 12 semester credit hours for fall and spring semesters enrolled at ECU, major in biology, possess an overall grade-point average of at least a 3.5 and science GPA of 3.5 and have completed 45 or more credit hours toward a bachelor’s degree at the time of application to OSU-CHS.

A few additional requirements must also be met.

“This is a credit to the quality of students who have gone through our Biology Department. Their success has made it possible for future students and graduates to achieve a higher level of academic success in an area of such medical importance,” said ECU President Katricia G. Pierson. “Rural medicine is so important, especially to our state because of a vast need for doctors and physicians in these areas.”

For more information on the program or to enroll at ECU for the 2019 spring semester contact the ECU Academic Success Center at 580-559-5696.


Share this post