Skip to main content

Sarah Harris of Byng, who will be a freshman next fall at East Central University, has been selected as the fourth recipient of the Don and Jane Kellogg Mathematics and Science Teaching Scholarship at ECU.

Harris will major in mathematics with teacher certification.

The Kelloggs established the scholarship to assist ECU students pursuing a teaching degree in either mathematics or science.

Dr. Don Kellogg was a professor at ECU from 1965 until 1990. He originally taught physics, helped build a science teaching program and started the first statewide science fair which he built into one of the largest programs in the United States. When he retired in 1990 he was a member of the Education Department.

Jane Kellogg, a former teacher, is the president of an educational consulting firm, Kellogg & Sovereign Consulting LLC in Ada.

Recipients of their scholarship receive $1,000 for their freshman year and $2,000 a year in subsequent years as long as they maintain a declared major in mathematics and/or science and enroll in courses leading to secondary teaching certification.

The first recipient, Laura Johnson of Holdenville, graduated this spring. Shelby Sayre of Chandler and Melissa Williams of Konawa are the other scholarship recipients.

Share this post