Skip to main content

East Central University's Summer Community Band and Jazz Ensemble will play their summer concert at 3 p.m. Sunday [JUNE 27] in the Ataloa Theater of the Hallie Brown Ford Fine Arts Center on the ECU campus.

The concert is free to all and will be followed by a watermelon festival at the gazebo east of the fine arts center.

"The program will be light and fun," said Dr. Allen Correll, ECU band director. "The concert will be a very casual affair, so bring all the kids."

It will include some music that he conducts every other year on tour in Europe with high school band students from around Oklahoma. , also says,

"It's enjoyable to rehearse and perform in a community band that plays so well and has such a diverse collection of individuals," said Dean Coale, retired Oklahoma band director. "We have several high school students, college students, young adult, and many fun-loving retired people in the group."

The Community Jazz Ensemble will open the program with "Shining Stockings," "Chameleon" and "Elektric City."

Correll will conduct the Community Band in "Strike Up the Band," "Handel In the Strand," music from "O Brother, Where Art Thou?" and the finale, Sousa's "The Stars and Stripes Forever."

Also on the program are "Enchanted St. Thomas ," conducted Paul Crowl; "American Anthem," conducted by Dean Coale; "The City of Lights," conducted by Bronson Warren; and "At a Dixieland Jazz Funeral," conducted by Frank Zugelder, featuring Dr. Mark Hollingsworth, clarinet; Dr. Doug Laramore, trumpet; Dean Coale, trombone; and Cody Rowe, tuba.

Members of the Community Band and Jazz Ensemble (marked with asterisks) include:

Piccolo and flute: Rebeka Unruh, ECU student; Kristen Morgan, OU student.

Flute: Paige Leal, Ada student.

Oboe: Heidi Sevels, former Sallisaw band director, and Amanda Hall, former Putnam City band director.

Bassoon: Erica Phillips, ECU student; Jason Draper, Ada student.

Clarinet: Dr. Mark Hollingsworth,* dean of ECU's College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; Jacob Jones, ECU student; Bronson Warren, ECU dean of students; Dr. JoAnn Carpenter, physician; June Murphy, math teacher; Sarah Jones, Ada student; Becky Butler, Environmental Protection Agency.

Bass Clarinet: Misty Matthews, software licensing administrator.

Alto Sax: Kevin Wilkins,* band director; Brent Biddy,* ECU student.

Tenor Sax: Hayley Coble, circulation aide-library/waitress, OSU/Iowa State student; Judy Clayton, Edward Jones Investments office manager.

Trumpet: Dr. Doug Laramore,* retired ECU music faculty; Ben Barrick, risk management; Christina Kushnick,* Stephen McCleskey, John Cook, Miguel Mireles and Jessylyn Richards, ECU students; James Monroe,* band director; Kristen Finley,* Byng music teacher; Paul Crowl, Ada band director; Ryan Bond, Ada student.

French Horn: Derek Akers, ECU student; April Golden, Pickett Schools business manager; Kathy Guyton, Carl Albert medical technologist; Camile Howard, elementary teacher; Cayden Howard, Ada student.

Trombone: Frank Zugelder,* ECU music faculty; Dean Coale,* retired band director; Eric Hall,* Kingston band director; Jack Malm,* Ada student; Nancy Postier, registered nurse; Richard Howard,* Ada band director; Keith Huit, Wynnewood band director.

Euphonium: Loné Beasley, Ada Evening News publisher; Spencer Cody, Allen band director; Josiah Vogan,* ECU student and chef; James Monroe*, Byng band director; Edward Sallee, Byng student.

Tuba: Cody Rowe*, ECU student; Loy Kidwell, retired band director; Anthony Dickenson, ECU student.

Percussion: Dr. Ben Finley* and W.T. Garcia,* ECU music faculty; Jay Cloar, Ada band director; Kelsey Creed and Jesse Milam, ECU students; Marlin Krause, Ada assistant band director; Reese Howard, OU student.

# # #

Share this post