Skip to main content

John Rutter's "Requiem" will be performed by the East Central University Choir at 7:30 p.m. Monday [DEC. 1] at St. Joseph's Catholic Church in Ada.

Dr. Steven Walker, ECU professor of music, will conduct the 54-member choir.

The contemporary British composer has said his "Requiem" was composed because of a personal bereavement. It is a musical setting of an adaptation of the Roman Catholic Requiem Mass and was first performed in its entirety in1985 at the Lovers' Lane United Methodist Church in Dallas with Rutter as the conductor.

It combines a personal selection of texts, including Psalms 23 and 130 and part of the 1662 Book of Common Prayer, with movements from the traditional Latin requiem mass. The work also contains sections of Gregorian chant as well as dissonant chords which are popular in modern choral music.

Students performing in the ECU Choir include sopranos Kristi Bailey, Danna Howry, Heather Holland, Brooke Trail, Brittany Trail and librarian Angie Brunk, all of Ada; Christa Chandler, Pauls Valley; Lacee Elliot, Davis; Brooke Haygood, Norman; Laura Knight and Ammishaddai Ross, Stratford; Sharon Olds, Wellston; Sheena Stallings, Shawnee; Krtistin Stecklein, Vinita; and Amanda Tarver, Cumberland, Ariz.

Altos include Kelsey Cree, Caitlin Gray, Jennifer Whitley and Jessica Whitley, all of Ada; Ashley Branscum, Checotah; Leah Creason, Beggs; April Dooley, Marietta; Jessie Jennings, Noble; Hillary McKnight, Tecumseh; Lindsey Sargent, Edmond; Mandy Sharp, Wilburton; Casey Taylor, Moore; and Christina Kushnick, Spiro.

Tenors are Troy Norred, Wyas Parker and music faculty member Kelley Alig, all of Ada; Johnothan Bomboy, Chris Geisler and Vincent Randall, all of Little Axe; Jesse Gordon and Jim Gordon, Seminole; Joseph Mohr, Sayre; and Justin Nubby, Marlow.

Basses are Phillip Berryhill, Brandon Blankenship and Josh Kinderick, Ada; Matt Chandler, Moore; Justin Cody, Tim Long and Tommy Long, Tecumseh; Jarrod Doyle and Quinton Roberts, Ardmore; Mike Dupuis, El Reno; Nick Geisler and Roy Harris, Little Axe; Kaleb Gordon, Seminole; David Houchin, Whitewright, Texas; Luke Smith, Holdenville; and Joseph Terrell, Elmore City.

# # #

Share this post