Skip to main content

Performing at the official launch ceremony in November of the new quarter honoring the Chickasaw National Recreation Area in Sulphur was the East Central University Clarinet Ensemble. The ensemble performed “Chickasaw Fanfare,” a piece director Michael Whitworth composed for the ceremony, as well other ceremonial music and pieces from its fall concert. The quarter is the 10th coin in the U.S. Mint’s America the Beautiful Quarters Program. Its reverse side depicts the area’s scenic Lincoln Bridge which was dedicated in 1909. Members of the ensemble are Sarah Jones (front row, from left), Amria Norman, Chelsea Johnson, Naomi Long, Lindsay LeBeau, Cameron Coley, Eric Gibson and (back row) Nathan Steinman, Christopher Miller, Andie Dartez, Christian Campbell, Colby Scroggins and Kayla Franco. Not shown is Nate Sheeley.

Share this post