Skip to main content

East Central University employees were recently honored with awards, promotions, for longevity and retirement during “An Evening of Employee Recognition” event held in ECU Foundation Hall of the Chickasaw Business and Conference Center.

Dr. Michael Bay, professor of biology, and Susan Ingram, instructor of mass communication, received 2017-2018 Teaching Excellence Awards.

Two ECU faculty members from the English and Languages Department – Dr. Rebecca Nicholson-Weir and Dr. Sarah Peters – earned tenure status and were promoted to associate professor. Two others promoted to associate professor were Dr. Mary Harper, mathematics, and Dr. Charles Peaden, political science and legal studies.

Achieving professor status were: Dr. Melody Baggech, music; Dr. Bradley Clampitt, history; Dr. Marc Klippenstine, psychology; Dr. Daniel McInnes, chemistry and Dr. Robin Murphy, English and languages.

Retiring employees include: Gregory Isaacs, John E. Roberts, Allen Correll, Patrick O. Bohan, Karen Cochran, Hugh Tribbey, Sarah Garcia, Cheryl Bell, Carl T. Rutledge and Janna Byrd.

Four employees in the physical plant were recognized – Angela Sliger (first quarter), Billy Boyd (second), Kevin McDonald (third) and Pam Sampson (fourth). Sarah Garcia was named the Charlee Lanis Award winner for a fulltime staff member who is positive, punctual, loyal, outgoing and makes others around them better.

Thirteen ECU employees were recognized for 30 or more years of service. That list includes: Janna Byrd (39 years), Shirley Mixon (39), Carl Rutledge (37), Janet Alexander (34), Steven Walker (34), Sarah Garcia (33), Becky Isaacs (33), Carla Harlan (32), Harold Hardwick (31), Eril Hughes (31), Charlie Jones (31), Mark Walling (30) and Karen Williams (30).

Those with 20 years of service include Anita Dixon and Donna Wood. Those with 15 years of service are Guy Sewell, Melissa Price, Bert Miller, Adriana Lancaster and Brian Johnson. Those with 10 years of service include Suzan Blanco, Tommy Carotenuti, Brad Clampitt, Billy Cowling, Whitney Gifford, Susan Ingram, Jo Ann Johnson, Meredith Jones,

Marc Klippenstine, Deborah Mayton, Jennifer McMahon, Robin Murphy, Wanda Pierce, Steve Sawyer, ADeidra Simmons, Chet Standridge, Kerry Sutton and Mary Weddle.

Twenty-seven were honored for five years of service. That list includes: Tommy Daubenspeck, Anna Duran, Jami Graham, Justin Graham, Brian Hampton, Ellen Harwell, Ja Havens, Nathan Hobbs, Alisha Hughes, Teri LaJeunesse, Mary LaMack, Lisa Letellier, Rudy Lupinski, Wendy McKibben, Jerry Meek, Stephanie Moss, Rebecca Nicholson-Weir, Darryl Overstreet, Sarah Peters, David Sadongei, Katherine Seals, Shelli Sharber, Tiffany Smith, Jennifer Snell, David Steer, Bethany Walling and David Weir.



Share this post