Skip to main content

The East Central University Jazz Ensemble and Wind Ensemble will be performing a free concert on Thursday, Dec. 1, at 7:30 p.m. in the Ataloa Theatre inside ECU’s Hallie Brown Ford Fine Arts Center.

The ECU Jazz Ensemble will be performing Jingle Bells (1857), by James Lord Pierpont and arranged by Ernie Wilkins, Christmas Time is Here (1965), by Vince Guaraldi and arranged by Tom Kubis and Sleigh Ride (1948), by Leroy Anderson and arranged by Harry Connick, Jr.

After intermission, the ECU Wind Ensemble will take to the stage and perform The Gallant Seventh (1922/1972) by John Philip Sousa and edited by Frederick Fennell and Portrait of a City, third movement Downtown (2002) by Philip Sparke.

Those students participating in the Jazz Ensemble and their high school and/or hometowns include: Dillyn Stephens, Southmoore, and Shelby Hubbard, Foyil, on the alto sax; Anthony Smith, Southmoore, and Matt Zwermann, Bethel Acres, on the tenor sax and Sarah Sanford, of Byng, on the baritone sax.

On the trumpet are: Andrew White, Southmoore; Blake Pringle, Southmoore; Chris Bragg, Sulphur; Garrett Crook, Westmoore; Lance Reisetter, Ardmore; McKean Akin, Durant and Zach Teague, Southmoore. Woody Clark, of Dickson, will play the drums.

Playing the trombone will be Caleb Dawes, of Cushing; Cole Kugler, Noble; Corey Burton, Beggs; Jackie Smith, Southmoore; Micah Hoskins, Shawnee and Robert Clark, Antlers. On the piano will be Jack Malm, of Ada, and Tyler Gifford, Purcell. Cooper Wingo, of Ada, will play the guitar and Josh Keith and Ryan Duncan, both of Ada, will play the bass.

Those students playing in the Wind Ensemble include: Anna Parker, of Pauls Valley; faculty member Alexandra Aguirre; Flora Knight, of Wynnewood and Chance Van Sandt, Foyil, on the flute. Performing on the clarinet are: Sarah Sanford, of Byng; faculty member Nathaniel Berman; Julia Stizza, McAlester; Quentin Palmer, Beggs; Krysta Brown, Prague; Colton Groover, Putnam City and Jasmine Johnson, Southmoore.

Playing the bass clarinet will be Caitlin Braden, of Cleveland. On the saxophone are Dillyn Stephens, Southmoore; Anthony Smith, Southmoore; Abigail Hardage, Washington; Hunter Newell, Ada; Alexander Sprengr, Owasso and Shelby Hubbard, Foyil. The percussion group includes Timothy Kuchera, Southmoore; Ethan Linfoot, Sapulpa; Emma Ross, McAlester; Cody Tollison, Broken Bow and Jessica Wilcox, Westmoore.

On the trumpet are: Lance Reisetter, Ardmore; Andrew White, Southmoore; Bo Chesser, Konawa; Garrett Crook, Westmoore; Akin McKean, Durant and Chris Bragg, Sulphur. Playing the horn are Zach Teague, Southmoore; Kadin Keenom, Pauls Valley; Hannah Harvey, Westmoore and Jake Walker, Konawa.

Performing on the trombone are Corey Burton, of Beggs; Cole Kugler, Noble; Jacob Moses, Okemah and Jack Malm, Ada. Edward Sallee, of Byng, and Zach Davis, Tecumseh, will play the euphonium. Chance Klupenger, Konawa, and Cassidy Cantrell, Southmoore, will be on the tuba and Josh Keith, Ada, will perform on the string bass.



Share this post