Skip to main content

East Central University will present the Punch and Pie 3 Jazz Band Concert on Sunday, March 4, at 3 p.m. in the Ataloa Theatre of the Hallie Brown Ford Fine Arts Center.

The free concert will not only feature the ECU Jazz Ensemble, but also the Konawa High School and Ada High School Jazz Ensembles.

The Konawa High School Jazz Ensemble, under the direction of Ashley Kellis, will be presenting Mercy, Mercy, Mercy (by Joe Zawinul/arranged by Chris Bragg), Summertime (by George Gershwin/arranged by Bragg), Autumn Leaves (by Joseph Kosma/arranged by Bragg).

The Ada High School Jazz Ensemble, under the direction of Richard Howard, will present A Nasty Bit of the Blues (by Doug Beach), Another Story (by Mike Tomaro) and Act Your Age (By Gordon Goodwin/arranged by Blair).

The ECU Jazz Ensemble will be presenting Sweet Georgia Upside Down (by Phil Kelly), Teddy the Toad (by Neal Hefti), La Fiesta (by Chick Corea/arranged by Tony Klatka) and Watermelon Man (by Herbie Hancock/arranged by Bob Lowdon).

Members of the ECU Jazz Ensemble on the saxophone include: Dillyn Stephens, of Moore (Southmoore High School); Abigail Hardage, of Washington, Oklahoma; Anthony Smith, Moore (Southmoore High School); Shelby Hubbard, Foyil; T.K. Garrett, Moore and Colton Groover, Oklahoma City (Putnam City High School).

Those on the trumpets include: McKean Akin, Durant; Garrett Crook, Moore (Westmoore); Lance Reisetter, Ardmore; Emily Selman, Washington, Oklahoma; Bragg, of Sulphur; Emma Williams, Glenpool and Blake Pringle, Moore (Southmoore High School).

Cooper Wingo, of Ada, will play the guitar.

On the trombone are: Corey Burton, of Beggs; Kellan Brown, Sulphur; Daniel Freeman, Tecumseh; Cole Kugler, Noble and Caleb Dawes, Cushing.

Playing the drums/percussion are Destin Rhyne, of Dickson; Ethan Linfoot, Sapulpa and Woody Clark, Dickson.

Garrett Workman, of Bridge Creek, will play the bass and Rozzie Purdy, Ada and ECU faculty, will play the piano.

The Konawa High School Ensemble includes Caleb Hughes (alto) and Syleekta Hawkins (baritone) on the saxophones; Austin Walker, Kalei Blanton and Corey Brantley on the trumpets; Cale Eberle and Philip Rogers on the percussions; Joshua Seal and Tsegaye Smith on the trombones; Clayton Shaw on the guitar; Ian Merchant on the bass and Colton Stinnett on the piano and percussion.

The Ada High School Ensemble will feature Mitchell Galbreaith, Ethan Goodwin, Gage McQuiston and Will Pottebaum on the saxophones; Chris Allen, Jonathan Cloar, Eric Crowell, Kohner Gallagher and Kayin Robinson on the trombones and Tyler Bailey, George Benefield, Kara Keith, Morgan Manning and Tristan Pence on the trumpets. Providing rhythm are: Maddie Manning (piano), Arren Pardue (guitar), Caleb Manning (bass) and Jacob Williams (drums).


Share this post