Skip to main content

Four East Central University professors were recognized with the prestigious Teaching Excellence Award at the ECU Employee Recognition Ceremony on Wednesday, April 13.

The Teaching Excellence Awards were created to recognize and honor individuals who embody characteristics of an excellent teacher, energizing the classroom as well as the lives of their students. These awards are given both to honor excellent teaching and to encourage others toward this goal.

Those honored for 2022 are: Dr. Marc Klippenstine, Psychology; Dr. Darcy Tessman, Education; Dr. Gerald “Jerry” Mihelic, Education; and Ms. Carly Conklin, Performing Arts.

To qualify for the award, faculty members must hold regular appointments at the University at the rank of instructor or higher and have completed two years continuous service at ECU at the time of nomination from a student or colleague.

After nomination, faculty members are given an opportunity to apply for this award. This year the Teaching Excellence Committee reviewed 16 applications. Four individuals were chosen to be awarded with a plaque and monetary compensation. 

Nominees for the award were Dr. LaDonna Autrey, Dr. Stacey Bolin, Dr. Jessica Brumley, Dr. Leah Dudley, Dr. Misty Gray, Dr. Sanjiv Jha, Dr. Amanda Kashwer, Mr. Mike Maxwell, Ms. Christyn Overstake, Dr. Steve Phillips, Dr. Nick Stowers, and Dr. Jace Vickers.

Share this post