Skip to main content

The East Central University Singers and University Chorale will be performing a concert on Nov. 19 at 7:30 p.m. at St. Joseph Catholic Church in Ada.

The ECU Singers will be performing a new composition by Victoria Davison and Rudy Lupinski entitled “Now Go Ye in to Jerusalem.” The spirited piece will feature the performance of ECU faculty member Juliana Overmier on the piccolo and retired ECU assistant director of bands Dr. Doug Laramore on the shofar. ECU music major Chris Mayhew will be playing the gong.

Also being performed by the ECU Singers will be a beautiful setting of “Ardoramus te, Christe” by the 18th century Italian composer Quirino Gasparini, “Pavane” (op. 50) by Gabriel Faure, and “Christ lag in Todesbanden” by J.S. Bach.

Finally, the ECU Singers will perform “Five Hebrew Love Songs” by Eric Whitacre, composed in 2002. The “Love Songs” will feature ECU faculty members Dr. Ben Finley on the marimba and Dr. Lauren Cox on the clarinet.

The University Chorale will be performing a program of contemporary choral works they will be featuring at the Oklahoma Music Educators Association State Convention in Tulsa on Jan. 17, 2013. These works will include two by Ola Gjeilo, a beautiful setting of “Ubi Caritas” and “The Ground” which is based on a chorale from his “Sunrise Mass’ for choir and orchestra, “Chanson Eloignee” by Morten Lauridsen, “O Nata Lux” by Davison and Lupinski, and Nacht und Morgen by Gyorgy Ligeti.

The pianist for the ECU Singers is ECU faculty member Dr. Starla Hibler. The pianist for the University Chorale is Rudy Lupinski, also an ECU faculty member. Both groups are under the direction of Dr. Steven Walker, director of Choral Activities at ECU.

An opportunity to make a donation to the University Chorale travel fund will be offered during the concert. The University Chorale has the opportunity to take a trip to Washington D.C. where it will perform at various venues, including the Kennedy Center-Millennium Stage and the possibility to perform at the National Cathedral and White House. Donations will help go toward the cost of the trip for each of the students.

Members of the ECU Singers and University Chorale include: Emily Anderson, Ada; Sarah Barnes, Ada; JamieLee Beuchat, Sapulpa; Hunter Braly, Ada; Jordan Clark, Noble; Lauren Cox, Purcell; Tori Davison, Ada; Kelsey Dial, Ada; Melody Dunn, Sulphur; Kaitlin Forest, McAlester; Kelci Forster, Ada; Caitlin Gray, Byng; Morgan Harper, Comanche; Danielle Haynes, Glenpool; Chloe Henry, Stratford; Erica Hollingsworth, Maxwell; Samantha Hopkins, Lexington; Kayla Horton, Moore; Kelsey Howry, Midwest City; Naomi Long, McAlester; Camilla Pollock, Tishomingo; Kelsie Pletcher, Ada; Jesslyn Richards, Wewoka; Carissa Rodgers, Stonewall; Abby Seal, Ada; Rachel Seewald, Norman; and Ashley Simpson, Valliant.

Also performing are: Myranda Spencer, Henryetta; Sheens Stallings; Ada; Aaron Steinman, Amarillo, Texas; Kayla Williams, Madill; Laci Jo Barringer, Pryor; Elizabeth Blanchard, Luther; Sarah Burrows, Roff; Krysta Cassell, Bristow; Catie Caton, Sapulpa; Cheryl Cochran, Macomb; Keeli Fisher, Davis; Megan Galbreaith, Ada; Chenaniah Heath, Poteau; Micah Hobday, Poteau; Jacie Hutcherson, Noble; Kelsey Jackson, Haworth; Cara-Lou Johnson, Norman; Kayla Keith, Ada; Madison Lagaly, Oklahoma City; Casey Long, Bloomfield, N.M., Kathleen Madden, Byars; Claire Marquardt, Poteau; Shelby Pletcher, Ada; and Amber Simpson, Valliant.

Additional performers are: Donna Smith; Shay Standingwater, Tulsa; Caleb Bonar, Ada; Ryan Boyce, Little Axe; Kendall Carter, Sulphur; Zach Champagne, Tishomingo; Josh Coats, Tecumseh; Justin Doughty, Ardmore; Zach Garcia, Ada; James Gottman, Tuttle; Joshua Hudson, Seminole; Chris Mayhew, McAlester; Joe Mohr, Ada; Andrew Reeves, Wetumka; John Stone, Seminole; Matthew Tidmore, McAlester; Bryan Young, Duncan; Meg Stewart, Wellston; Rachel Talley, Newcastle; Ashley Tucker, Sasakwa; Lauren Webb, Edmond; Andrew Brady, Okemah; Evan Clay, Poteau; Freddie Cochran, Ada; and Justin Cody, Tecumseh.

The remainder of the performers include: Adam Daniel, Ada; Steve Filkins, Oklahoma City; Kaleb Gordon, Seminole; Jack Malm, Ada; Stephen McCleskey, Ardmore; Jordan Myers, Sapulpa; Kierick Parrish, Duncan; Clint Prucha, Comanche; Will Rauch, The Colony, Texas; Nathan Steinman, Moore; Clayton Sullivan, Tishomingo; Stephen Timperley, Tecumseh; and Michael Woodall, Sulphur.

Share this post