Skip to main content


The East Central University chapter of the Alpha Chi National College Honor Society was recently named a Star Chapter for the 2011-12 academic year.
Alpha Chi is comprised of the top 10 percent of juniors and seniors at ECU. In addition to individual standards, Alpha Chi members must meet group requirements to be recognized as a Star Chapter.
Among the requirements for becoming a Star Chapter, groups must send at least one sponsor and one student member to the annual convention and at least one of those students must present research during the event.
ECU Alpha Chi President Blake Scott, a senior biology major from Newcastle, says he has benefited greatly from Alpha Chi.
“The opportunity to serve with Alpha Chi has been a rich experience. This organization has allowed me to present my research at the national level and has allowed many other students the same,” said Scott. “Alpha Chi has fostered in me a greater sense of academic responsibility and curiosity.”
After graduation, Scott will enter the John Hopkins School of Medicine.
Twelve students from ECU’s Alpha Chi chapter attended the national convention in Nashville in early April and presented a research project.
The 12 delegates from the ECU Alpha Chi chapter included: Angele Tull, a senior psychology major from Ada; Tamra Albritton, a senior legal studies major from Ada; Brandy Baldwin, a junior history major from Wynnewood; Krishna Bhattarai, a senior biology major from Ada; Ashley Cardwell, a senior math major from Mustang; Nikki Dickerson, a senior biology major from Mustang; Meagon Eagon, a junior legal studies major from Ada; Sarah Nelson, a junior legal studies major from Tahlequah; Josh Smith, a senior chemistry major from Ada; Cody Soden, a senior psychology major from Ada; Jessica Steudeman, a senior biology major from Ada; and Tim Steudeman, a junior biology major from Ada.
The 12 students made 11 separate paper and poster presentations. The Alpha Chi National Conventions provides a high-profile outlet for growing the number of undergraduate research projects being conducted on campus.
On March 28, the ECU chapter initiated 84 new members into Alpha Chi, which brings the current membership on campus to 294.
“Alpha Chi provides students with opportunities for research, leadership and service,” said ECU Alpha Chi Chapter Advisor Dr. Christine Pappas. “I really appreciate getting to know students in every major and to help them achieve their goals.”
Here are the 84 new inductees into the ECU chapter of Alpha Chi by hometown:
            ADA - Robert Biles, Teresa Buretta, Zachariah Champagne, George Clay, Jennifer Cody, Mary Cox, Jimmy Gambol, Robel Gebreamlak, Chad Gray, Niran Hadad, Heidi Harkins, Taylor Manuel, Janelle Martin, Jessica McKennell, Ronnie Miller, Julia Morgan, Kaitlyn Quinlan, Kayla Ronning, Amanda Scott, KaCee Thompson, Teresa Thornhill, Megan Van Eaton, Erin Walling, Courtney Wright, Kaycie Young, Summer Zah
            ARDMORE – Jordan Anderson, Glenda Brown, Aubrie Lehman, Charlotte May
            ASHER – Ronald Allen
            ATOKA – Susan Anderson, Amanda Hall
            BLANCHARD – Porsha Courtney
            BRAGGS – Garrett Kizzia
            BRISTOW – Hannah Weigant
            CADDO – David McMichael
            CANADIAN – Brandi Taber
            COALGATE – Wesley Eddings, Herschel Weathers
            COLEMAN – Becky Floyd
            DURANT – Amanda Gomes, Kaley Hughes
            ELMORE CITY – Haley Dena, Maranda Weaver
            FOSTER – Angela Johnson
            GLENPOOL – Michael Cain
            HOLDENVILLE – David Clark
            HUGO – Danielle Cory
            LEBANON – Candice Grant
MADILL – Daren Ellis
            MARIETTA – Paula Davis
            MACOMB – Andrew Weiss
            MAUD – Krysten Isenhower
            McALESTER – Nikoloas Razo
            NOBLE – Megan Hart
            NORMAN – Kaylee Thompson
            OKMULGEE – Bailey Cusher
            PAOLI – Kelsey Mantooth
            PAULS VALLEY – Casey Fowler
            POTEAU – Evan Clay
            ROFF – Rachel Royal
            SALLISAW – Kendall Dobbs
            SASAKWA – Jennifer Allison, Linda Choate
            SEMINOLE – Courtney Ackerman, Samuel Ackerman, Janis Hart, Abigail Hobbs, Kristin Sneed
            SHAWNEE – Pamela Creel, Noah Hahn, Helen Harrison
            SULPHUR – Grant Bates
            STRATFORD – Chloe Henry, Cassandra Taylor
            TECUMSEH – Jeffrey Doherty
            TISHOMINGO – Allison Leonard
            WEWOKA – Deana Casey
            WETUMKA – Andrew Reeves
            WILBURTON – Melonie Jackson
            AURORA – Cady Murphy
            HOUSTON – Alycea Price

Share this post