Skip to main content
Clarinet EnsembleThe East Central University Clarinet Ensemble will join ECU’s Flute and Brass Ensembles for a concert at 7:30 p.m. Monday [APRIL 16] in the Ataloa Theatre in the Hallie Brown Ford Fine Arts Center. Members of the Clarinet Ensemble are Sarah Jones (front row, from left), Amria Norman, Chelsea Johnson, Naomi Long, Lindsay LeBeau, Cameron Coley, Eric Gibson and (back row) Nathan Steinman, Christopher Miller, Andie Dartez, Christian Campbell, Colby Scroggins and Kayla Franco. Not shown is Nate Sheeley.
Performing a concert Monday [APRIL 16] with East Central University’s Clarinet and Brass Ensembles are members of ECU’s Flute Ensemble, Debbie Allen (from left), Kristen Stecklein, Starlet Etheridge, Catherine Melton, Erin Burton, Catherine Phipps, Rachael Bessert and Lauren Webb. Not shown is Eric Gibson.  The free concert will begin at 7:30 p.m. in the Ataloa Theatre in ECU’s Hallie Brown Ford Fine Arts Center.

Flute Choir







The East Central University Flute, Clarinet and Brass Ensembles will perform on the Instrumental Ensembles Concert at 7:30 p.m. Monday, [APRIL 16] in the Ataloa Theatre in ECU’s Hallie Brown Ford Fine Arts Center.

The Flute Ensemble will play “Blue Skies” by Irving Berlin, “The Harmonious Blacksmith” by George Friedrich Handel and “Simple Gifts,” arranged by Ricky Lombardo.

The ensemble will perform using two additional members of the flute family, the alto flute and the bass flute.

“The addition of the larger flutes to the choir brings color and depth to the ensemble and allows the repertoire to match the range of a string quartet,” said director Juliana Overmier.

Flutists are Debbie Allen of Ada, Rachael Bessert of Midwest City, Erin Burton of Oklahoma City, Starlet Etheridge of Tishomingo, Eric Gibson of Wynnewood, Catherine Melton and Catherine Phipps of Moore and Lauren Webb of Edmond.

The Clarinet Ensemble, conducted by Michael Whitmore, will perform “Andante and Fughetta” by J. S. Bach and “Licorice Licks” by Arthur Frackenpohl.

Clarinetists are Christian Campbell, Checotah; Andrea Dartez, Oklahoma City; Kayla Franco and Nathaniel Sheeley, Owasso; Eric Gibson, Wynnewood; Sarah Jones, Byng; Lindsay LeBeau, Mustang; Naomi Long, McAlester; Christopher Miller, Tishomingo; Amria Norman, Dewar; and Nathan Steinman, Moore.

The Clarinet Ensemble also performed at the official launch ceremony in November of the new quarter honoring the Chickasaw National Recreation Area in Sulphur. The quarter is the 10th coin in the U.S. Mint’s America the Beautiful Quarters Program.

Dean Coale will conduct the Brass Ensemble in the Overture of “Suite for Brass” by George Friederich Handel, “Shenandoah” by Quinto Maganini and “Five Pieces” by Anthony Holborne.

The Brass Ensemble includes Jordan Douglas and Daniel Lewis, Oklahoma City; Jake Kinard, Maysville; Elaine Lancaster, Eufaula; Stephen McCleskey, Ardmore; Jesslyn Richards, Wewoka; Lemuel Overton, Foyil; Andrew Reeves, Wetumka; Kyle Wilkes and Cayla Odom, Purcell; Rayel Schinnerer, Blanchard; Krysta Cassell, Bristow; Morgan Gosey, Holdenville; Christian Miller, Tishomingo; Justin Anderson, Elmore City; Kierick Parrish, Comanche; and John Stone, Seminole.


Share this post