Skip to main content

After the launching of the new ECU Chapter of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP) in June, the first event for the group was conducted on Oct. 11.

The event was a public forum focused on the university’s new strategic plan, featuring guest speaker Dr. Ken Andrews, acting dean of the ECU College of Health and Science and chair of the Strategic Plan Steering Committee.

Andrews spoke about the new institutional mission, vision, core values and goals, all of which are integral to ECU’s new strategic plan. He also discussed the way in which the production of the plan incorporated shared governance, a focal point of current institutional operations, as well as how a specific work plan is now being developed to ensure comprehensive implementation of the plan as well as appropriate accountability with regards to achieving its stated goals.

Approximately 40 people, including faculty, staff and administrators, attended the event, many of whom engaged in a lively question-answer period after Andrews’ presentation.

Dr. Jennifer McMahon, professor in the Department of English and Languages, is president of the ECU Chapter of AAUP. Other executive committee members are: Dr. Taryn Chubb, associate professor of art and director of ECU’s Pogue Art Gallery; Dr. Rebecca Nicholson-Weir, associate professor in the Department of English and Languages; Dr. Michael Scott, professor of business administration and Dr. Andrew Wells, associate professor in the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science.


Share this post