Skip to main content

East Central University's version of the Academy Awards lit up a rainy night as the Caton family walked off with duplicate awards at the Communication Department Awards Banquet at the end of the spring semester.

Catie Caton and husband Sam Caton were chosen Best Overall Actress and Actor from the theatre division and also won the Best Supporting Role for Actress and Actor awards. Catie Caton won for her role in "The Importance of Being Ernest" and Sam Caton for "Julius Caesar." The Catons are seniors from Ada.

Jomain MacKenzie, a freshman from Jamaica, walked away with awards for Outstanding Male Vocalist in the musical theater division and Cub Reporter for journalism. He tied with Sherri Scott of Sapulpa for Musical Theatre Trooper of the Year.

Pre-awards entertainment was provided by ECU Musical TheatreWorks singing "I Got Rhythm" and Collage dancing to "Tomorrow." During the ceremony, MacKenzie and Crystal Johnson of Wellston performed duets from "Phantom of the Opera."

Betsy Ballard was recognized as the "Distinguished Graduate" for 2008. Ballard graduated from ECU with a speech/theatre degree in 1973 and has been the English, speech, debate and drama teacher at Norman High School since 1976.

Alisha Anderson of Ada was the recipient of the Donna Thompson-Callison Scholarship and Amy Penprase of Ada received the Pokorny Scholarship from the mass communication division. Dorothy Summers Scholarships were awarded to Carissa Rodgers of Stonewall, Randi Christy of Ada, Whitney Fletcher of Mounds, Lauren Hathcoat of Ada, Kassie Ingle of Ada and Katie Wilson of Yukon.

Additional Oscars were awarded to Ruth Richardson of Stratford and Blair Waltman of Maud for the Unsung Hero Award; Jeremiah Edwards of Ardmore, Phydelca Thomas of Ada and Whitney Fletcher of Mounds for News & Public Affairs Production; Elizabeth Bragg of Sulphur for Public Relations; Alisha Anderson of Ada for Advertising; and Corey Fetters of Ada for Outstanding Creative Design.

Also, Blair Waltman of Maud for Outstanding Reporting & Writing; Logan Rinehart of Ada for Outstanding Photography; Will Krause of Ada for Outstanding Feature Photography; Sam Cooper of Ada and Clayton Ward of Ada for Outstanding Documentary Project; Luke Cypert of Ada for Documentary Production; and Naomi Bremer of Wetumka and Jonnathon Hicks of Allen for Achievement in ECU Organization or Club Promotion.

Other Oscars went to Heather Moreno of Marietta and Logan Rinehart of Ada for Achievement in Radio/Audio Production; Jeff Gaylor of Madill and Katie Wilson of Yukon for Achievement in Scriptwriting; Willis Hogan of Fittstown, Dillon Branscum of Ada, Naomi Bremer of Wetumka and Jeremiah Edwards of Ardmore for Achievement in Commercial Production.

Blair Waltman of Maud and Jeremiah Edwards of Ardmore were recognized for winning second place and third place, respectively, in the scriptwriting category in the statewide 2008 Oklahoma Broadcast Education Association Student Competition.

Theatre awards went to Chris Hicks of Allen for Best Actor in a Leading Role; Natalie May of Prague for Best Actress in a Leading Role; Kassie Ingle of Ada for Best Overall Technician; and Katie Wilson of Maud for the Dorothy Summers Best Technician.

Also, Matt Sweatt of Ada for Best Actor in a Musical; Mary Beth Richardson of Edmond for Best Actress in a Musical; Chris Geisler of Newalla for Best Supporting Actor in a Musical; Crystal Johnson of Wellston for Best Supporting Actress in a Musical and Outstanding Female Vocalist; and Amanda Tarver of Chandler, Ariz., for Best Cameo Appearance in a Musical.

Michelle McGee of Marietta was named Outstanding Senior Dance Minor and Mary Beth Richardson of Edmond was honored for Outstanding Leadership and Performance in Collage, ECU's dance ensemble.

Excellence in Choreography for "Broadway's Dazzling Duets" was awarded to Amanda Tarver of Chandler, Ariz., Mary Sumner of Shawnee, Brooke Haygood of Norman, Crystal Johnson of Wellston and Brittany Trail of Ada.

# # #

Share this post