Skip to main content

Outstanding students in East Central University's Human Resources Department have been recognized for their achievements with scholarships and awards during a year-end ceremony.

Recipients of the Richard E. Baumgartner Scholarship Award, which honors the late chair of the Human Resources Department, were Parker Kempf of Oklahoma City, winner of the graduate student award, and Samantha Moreno of Marietta, selected for the undergraduate award.

The Lowell E. Green Scholarship Award went to Elizabeth Swinea of Ada, and the Quiett-Gerlach Counseling Scholarship was presented to Amanda Rhynes.

Shelly Spratt of Roff was recognized as the recipient of the Chief Ray Farmer Memorial Scholarship in criminal justice. Farmer was chief of ECU's Police Department. Sterling Headen of Arlington, Texas, received the Chief "Pete" Gray Scholarship. Gray was a former chief of the Ada Police Department.

The Natashia Wright Scholarship was presented to two students this year, Dennis Smith of Asher and Liberty Tamplen of Tishomingo. Wright was an ECU graduate and a member of the first Oklahoma Police Corps Academy. She was a member of the Ada Police Department when she died in a traffic accident.

Four human resources students were named Students of the Year: Jonathan Cook of Tishomingo, Counseling Student of the Year; Mark Glenn of Wilson, Criminal Justice Student of the Year; Whitney Musgrove of Ada, Collegiate Officer Program Student of the Year; and Rina "Amy" Chronister-Phillips, Social Work Student of the Year.

Spirit Awards were presented to Jennifer Reed of McAlester in counseling, Adam Ritter of Allen in criminal justice and Linsy Ingmire of Seminole in social work.

Named Outstanding Interns were Chelsee Sanders of Meeker, in counseling; Rebecca Littlefield of Stratford, criminal justice; and Amy Crone of Ada, social work.

Matthew Bloom of Ardmore received the Clayton A. Morgan Rehabilitation Leadership Award, and Donna Copeland of Tecumseh was named the James A. West Outstanding Rehabilitation Graduate Intern.

Kimberly Fuqua of Shawnee was recognized as the Richard E. Baugartner Outstanding Rehabilitation Graduate Student and Joan Garvin of Ada was named the Outstanding Counseling Graduate Intern.




Share this post