Skip to main content


The Summer Community Band, which includes students from junior high to graduate school, teachers and professors, area band directors, business people, medical professionals, a newspaper publisher and community members, will perform at 3 p.m. Sunday [JUNE 24] in the Ataloa Theatre in the Hallie Brown Ford Fine Arts Center. Admission is free.

“It should be a fun concert,” said Dr. Allen Correll, ECU band director. “There will be ice cream and cookies afterward in the lobby of the fine arts center.”

Correll will open the concert with George Gershwin’s “Strike Up the Band,” followed by the March from Gustav Holst’s “Second Suite for Military Band in F major.”

Also on the program are “Down A Country Lane” by Aaron Copland, “American Barndance” by Richard Saucedo, “Indiana (Way Back Home Again In)” by Ballard MacDonald and James F. Hanley and “The Stars and Stripes Forever” by John Phillip Sousa.

Eric Hall, Ada High School band director, will conduct “Haven’t Met You Yet” by Michael Bublé, Alan Chang and Amy Foster and the theme from “Hawaii Five-O” by Morton Stevens.

Members of the band are:

Flutes: Savannah Cloar, Kate Draper, Eric Gibson, Mikayla Sparks, Patty Tickel, Lauren Webb.

Oboe: Amanda Hall, Kristy Huntsman, Maddie Urlaub.

Bassoon: Jason Draper, Erica Phillips.

Clarinet: JoAnn Baughman, JoAnn Carpenter, Emily Crook, Sam Harley, Mark Hollingsworth, Jacob Jones, Sarah Jones, June Murphy, Tori Murray, Nate Sheeley, Nathan Steinman, Amity Taylor, Ron Urlaub.

Alto Sax: Janet Barrick, MaKayla Blair, Savannah Jones, Lisa Kline, Hunter Newell, Alexandra Scull, Mackenzie Scull, Bronson Warren.

Tenor Sax: Judy Clayton, Hayley Coble, Josh Remis.

Trumpet: Ben Barrick, Ryan Bond, Nathan Enns, Doug Laramore, Stephen McCleskey, James Monroe, Caleb Parry, Cole Potter, Jesslyn Richards, Amelia Stevens, Kathryn Wills.

French Horn: April Golden, Kathy Guyton, Camille Howard, Cayden Howard, Ryan Meeks, John Morgan, Sarah Morgan.

Trombone: Dean Coale, Eric Hall, Richard Howard, Jack Malm, Nancy Postier, Sean Williams.

Euphonium: Loné Beasley, Spencer Cody, Alden Kidwell, Sean Williams.

Tuba: Justin Anderson, Loy Kidwell, John Stone, Jacob Taylor.

Percussion: Jay Cloar, Stephen Gammill, Marlin Krause, Paul Rowe, Jackson Smeltz, Avery Stevens, Clayton Sullivan.

Share this post