Skip to main content

Eleven local and area teachers will be honored at a reception and Oklahoma State Teacher of the Year Elaine Hutchison will speak at the annual Marvin Stokes Endowed Lecture on Monday, Nov. 5, at East Central University.

The eleven teachers will be honored with a reception at the Oklahoma Regents Room of the ECU Student Union from 5:30 p.m. to 6:15 p.m. Immediately following the reception, Hutchison will deliver the Stokes Lecture in the Estep Auditorium of the Bill S. Cole University Center at 6:30 p.m.

Hutchison, a fourth generation teacher, is a math teacher at Fairview High School, Chamberlain Middle School and the Oklahoma School of Science and Mathematics Regional Center in Fairview. She is also the assistant girls’ high school basketball coach at Fairview. She has 19 years of experience and has National Board Certification.

The eleven, who are being honored as area teachers of the year, include: Marcy Jack, Ada Early Childhood Center; Katrina Lewis, Allen Public Schools; Brenda Roberts, Homer Elementary School; Sandra Hetherington, Davis Middle School; Breanna Sanford, Ethel Reed Elementary School in Holdenville; Michelle Ellison, Latta Public Schools; Chad Chronister, Pauls Valley High School; Genise Fridrich, Prague Early Childhood Center; Sabre Dixon, Shawnee Middle School; Nancy McAfee, Stratford Public School; and Donna Nickell, Vanoss High School.

The reception and lecture are being hosted by the ECU College of Education and Psychology. The reception is a private affair, but the lecture is free and open to the public.

Share this post