Skip to main content

The University Chorale of East Central University was recently chosen by the Oklahoma Music Educators Association as a university-level honor group for 2013.

The honor groups are chosen anonymously by a panel of choral directors from across the state of Oklahoma.

The University Chorale, under the direction of Dr. J. Steven Walker, will perform for the OMEA at its state convention in Tulsa, Jan. 16-19, 2013. This will be the Chorale’s fourth appearance for this prestigious performance since 1989.

The Chorale, which consists of 40-50 auditioned singers, is the touring ensemble for the choral department and performs a wide spectrum of the finest choral literature. The Chorale performs extensively throughout the Southwest and will be singing at several venues in Washington D.C. during December of 2013.

The group primarily consists of vocal music majors, but some singers represent other academic disciplines.

Walker, who has been director since 1985, is the Director of Choral Activities and Adolph Linscheid Distinguished Teaching Professor at ECU and has served on ECU’s music faculty since 1983.

Prior to his arrival at ECU, Walker taught in the Denton (Texas) Public Schools and the Dallas County Community College District. He has been active as a choral clinician and adjudicator throughout the Southwest for many years.

He has conducted numerous all-region and all-city high school and junior high school choirs as well as judged choral contests on the district and state levels.

Rudy Lupinski is the pianist for the University Chorale. He is an instructor and staff pianist for the ECU music department. A graduate of ECU and the University of North Texas, Lupinski has served on the ECU faculty for the last 10 years. He is also director of choirs and organist at St. Joseph Catholic Church in Ada.

The Chorale will perform a program of contemporary choral works. These will include works by Morten Lauridsen, Ola Gjeilo, and Gyorgy Ligeti, along with works from resident ECU composers, Victoria Davison and Lupinski. The University Chorale has performed many of the Davidson and Lupinski compositions over the past several years.

Members of the University Chorale include: Sarah Barnes, Ada; Laci Jo Barringer, Pryor; JamieLee Beuchat, Sapulpa; Elizabeth Blanchard, Luther; Caleb Bonar, Ada; Ryan Boyce, Little Axe; Andrew Brady, Okemah; Hunter Braly, Ada; Catie Caton, Sapulpa; Zachariah Champagne, Tishomingo; Jordan Clark, Noble; Evan Clay, Poteau; Joshua Coats, Tecumseh; Freddie Cochran III, Ada; Justin Cody, Tecumseh; Lauren Cox, Purcell; Victoria Davison, Ada; Melody Dunn, Sulphur; Keeli Fisher, Davis; Kelci Forster, Ada; Kaleb Gordon, Seminole; Caitlin Gray, Byng; Danielle Haynes, Glenpool; Chenaniah Heath, Poteau; and Micah Hobday, Poteau; Erica Hollingsworth, Ada; Kelsey Howry, Midwest City; and Jacie Hutcherson, Noble.

Other members include: Maddison Lagaly, Oklahoma City; Cassandra Long, Bloomfield, N.M.; Stephen McCleskey, Ardmore; Joe Mohr, Sayre; Jordan Myers, Sapulpa; Camilla Pollock, Tishomingo; Clint Prucha, Comanche; Will Rauch, The Colony, Texas; Carissa Rodgers, Stonewall; Abigail Seal, Ada; Amber Simpson, Valliant; Ashlie Simpson, Valliant; Billy Snead, Atoka; Shailey Standingwater, Tulsa; Aaron Steinman, Amarillo, Texas; Nathan Steinman, Moore; Margaret Stewart, Wellston, Sheena Stallings, Ada; John Stone, Seminole; Rachel Talley, Newcastle; Matthew Tidmore, McAlester; and Bryan Young, Duncan.

Share this post